Food Adventures
Leave a Comment

The easiest crowd pleaser – in my books

I have been in a festive mood the last few days – firstly  it’s Dassain (Dassain = Food + MORE Food) AND it was the long weekend here in Sydney AND I had an extra day off. Double Bonanza! So, of course I had to try out something in the kitchen.

This time my food adventures got me making a Nepalese favourite – Chicken Choella. If you were to eat this in Nepal, I am sure it is prepared in  more elaborate way and you will most certainly get a more spicier plate, but then who’s got the time for elaborate cooking, right? So, I do the best I can. I especially like this my modified version of the Choella recipe because its easy. I mean it. It IS easy. (I am sort of a lazy cook and go for anything shortcut and with less effort).

I used:

  • 800gms of chicken thigh fillet
  • 1 big bunch of shallots –  but it depends on whether or not you like raw shallots.
  • 3 fresh red chillies – go crazy. add more if you like.
  • 4 tablespoons of mustard oil
  • 3 teaspoons of fennel seeds
  • salt, turmeric powder, cumin powder, chilli powder – for the final bit of a spicy kick!
Chicken Choela

Poach the chicken, until the meat is sealed. Cool it then cut it to whatever shape and size. Just make sure they aren’t all in shreds. Do the same for shallots and fresh chillies. And put them all into a mixing bowl. Heat  oil in a pan and drop in the fennel seeds & turmeric. When the fennel seeds start becoming dark brown/black, pour in onto the meat. Add salt, cumin and chilli powder – little by little. Mix them all by hand and improvise on the taste by adding in more the salt, cumin and chilli powder, if needed.

I like to leave it for a couple of hours before serving.  Best served cold – room temperature, but not chilled. I usually serve this as an entree has always been a crowd pleaser. It goes well with something tangy – to cool off the heat 😉 And best of all it takes just a few minutes to put together – just  my style.

Leave a Reply

