Food Adventures
Comments 7

A tangy Nepalese potato salad

Tangy Nepalese Potato Salad

This is one of my favourite Nepalese dishes. It’s a tangy/spicy potato salad that is pretty popular in my kitchen. Works great as a side dish to a protein. And best of all, so easy to prepare 😀 I prepared this recently and thought to share.
P.S. I am also practising my photography.

Par boiled brushed potatoes

I used 6 potatoes and par boiled them and let it cool then chop them into little cubes. I find brushed potatoes always work best for me. And to check if they are cooked, I just stick a knife in. If there is no resistance, I know it’s done. It becomes a disaster if the potato over cooks – I talk from a lot of experience on these disasters.

Carrots & Lebanese Cucumber cut into pieces

Chopped up 2 lebanese cucumbers, 2 carrots and 2 fresh red chillies. (Go crazy on the chillies if you want)

Roasted sesame seeds

Then I used a pestle to grind about 6 teaspoons of roasted sesame seeds into a smooth paste. Add a little water to it, to make the process easier.

Then put all the ingredients into a mixing bowl. Heat about 4/5 tablespoons of oil and add about 1.5 teaspoon of turmeric powder, 2 teaspoons of fennel seeds some chilli flakes. Remove from heat, just as the fennel seeds turn dark brown and pour it into the mixing bowl. Be careful not to choke on the smoke – again, I speak from many experiences of filling the kitchen in smoke…

Then mix them all together with salt and fresh lemon juice. There is no right and wrong in the amount of lemon you can use. Add it according to your liking. But in my case,  I used up a full lemon. And I always like fresh baby peas too – tastes great and adds a bit of colour.

A tangy Nepalese potato salad

I always like to prepare this a few hours in advance to let all the spices “sink” in. Serve it cold as a part of the entree. If you have made it spicy (like I always tend to do), then have a drink ready to cool it off 😉

For someone that is generally creating disasters in the kitchen, this is a winner.

The Daily Post: Achievement 

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: Finding Nemo in paper mache | Non perfect writing

  2. Pingback: Finding Nemo in paper mache | Non perfect writing

  3. Pingback: The blessed ‘waa’ pancake | Our Gorgeous Chaos

Leave a Reply

