Making of Arcadia
Comments 6

Not quite right

I recently purchased a wall art from society6 website and I was so excited to get it hung up. And, I bought a frame for it yesterday from Ikea. But unfortunately, after all that measuring & googling around, I still did not get the right frame. So now it looks rubbish. Here is why:

  1. The art size is 56cm x 71cm. The frame sizes in Ikea either allow for 50cm x 70cm or 70cm x 100cm. So I bought this largest one because it’s mount opening was 49cm x 69cm & it would have fit the artwork – but I missed considering the fact that I was measuring the artwork including the borders!!  The print area of the artwork was only 46cm x 61cm. So now the picture looks like I have it cut it out of a magazine and stuck it to the photo frame.
  2. And this particular large size ikea frame does not have a glass for front protection! I didn’t even notice this while buying because it has a plastic covering and I basically assumed the glass front would be there – Thats how it is in most cases isn’t it?
    Ikea website describes the product to have “Polystyrene plastic” protection – well yes, but it’s just the packaging!!!

Not quite right
The picture does not fit right and there is no glass front. So basically, my picture now looks like a crappy piece of craftwork stuck on a notice board.

I am pretty sure Ikea is not going to take a return on the frame. And I obviously cannot enlarge the artwork. I will probably have to get a smaller frame then cut the out the artwork to fit it.  And I also wonder if we can get a custom sized mounting board. Any ideas?

6 Comments

  1. I am not sure where you are but there is a costume framing in Arncliff area where we did our painting and they are good and considerable cheaper than other place. Check this post and go to the painting pic.

    http://nepaliaustralian.com/2014/08/14/bringing-nepal-to-our-home/

    The framing cost us as much as the painting itself as it is 5 ft X 3 ft but I am sure yours one will be cheaper. They have lots of options so I am sure you can find what you are looking for. I can send you their number if you are interested.

    Like

Leave a Reply

