Food Adventures
Leave a Comment

Tofu and Shiitake Mushroom Stir-Fry

Making a vegetarian dish is always a challenge in our kitchen. And being so accustomed to preparing spicy Nepalese food, creating a dish that does not use loads of turmeric, or cumin or loads of chillies is also always a challenge. But I nailed this particular dish without the heavy use of the usual himalayan spices. This was the tofu and shiitake mushroom stir fry recipe that I found on the bon appetit website. To be honest, this was my second attempt. (Let’s not remember how the first attempt went… *sigh*)

I don’t think its worth detailing the recipe again as I followed the method word to to word on this site: http://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/stir-fried-tofu-and-shiitake-mushrooms-in-spicy-black-bean-sauce

I followed the recipe ditto except:

  • used 950gm *3 gms of regular firm tofu
  • doubled the rest of the ingredients
  • forgot the leek
  • also forgot the cilantro, so added some baby peas for some ‘color’.

The name of the recipe says “spicy” but honestly it wasn’t. My 4 year old nephew ate it without hesitation. I had guests ask me for the recipe, so seems like it was a winner 😉

 

Leave a Reply

